5 Foods to Eat When You Plan a Gluten-Free Diet

Quinoa has high levels of antioxidants. (Image: via pixabay)

Gluten is a type of protein that is found in certain grains. For most people, consuming gluten is a non-issue. But if you have a gluten sensitivity or a medical condition like celiac disease, then adopting a gluten-free diet becomes essential.

1. Whole grains

Grains like wheat, barley, and rye contain gluten and should not be made a part of any meal. Instead, go for whole grains like wild rice, brown rice, amaranth, buckwheat, oats, sorghum, and so on. Oats are an excellent choice as your “main” whole grain since they contain sufficient quantities of dietary fiber that will keep your blood sugar levels in check and regularize digestion.

Subscribe to our Newsletter!

Receive selected content straight into your inbox.

Oats contain fiber that will keep blood sugar levels in check. (Image: pixabay / CC0 1.0)

2015 study also proposes that oats have anticancer properties. When buying grains, make sure that their packaging confirms that they are “certified” gluten-free. Since many of these products are manufactured in the same facility, cross-contamination can take place. For instance, buckwheat can be contaminated with gluten if they are processed in close proximity to barley.

2. Quinoa

Often called “superfood,” Quinoa is generally considered as a grain. But the truth is that it is not a grain at all. Instead, it is the seed of a plant native to the South American countries of Bolivia and Peru. In addition to being gluten-free, quinoa has high levels of antioxidants. It is also one of the only plant foods that provides complete proteins, as it contains all critical amino acids that a human body is usually unable to make on its own. There are about 8 grams of protein in every cup of quinoa. Plus, it contains all necessary vitamins and minerals like potassium, iron, vitamin E, calcium, magnesium, and so on.

3. Vegetables and fruits

These are naturally gluten-free. However, you need to ensure that they are only eaten raw. Processed fruits and vegetables can contain additives that might end up adding gluten to the food. Similarly, avoid canned, frozen, dried, or pre-chopped fruits and vegetables to avoid the risk of cross-contamination. Plus, avoid fruits or veggies that come with sauces. Some of the best items to eat include radishes, bell peppers, apples, pears, carrots, citrus fruits, mushrooms, green beans, and so on.

4. Beverages

Unlike what people assume, soft drinks like sodas and fruit juices can be consumed without fear of ingesting gluten. However, certain wines have to be avoided since they might contain excessive gluten due to the wheat paste that is applied to the barrels when fermenting grapes. Wines that contain less than 20 ppm of gluten are safe unless the person is extremely sensitive. Malt vinegar, beer, lagers, etc. are also to be avoided since they are often made from grains that contain gluten. Some beers are marketed as gluten-free and should be okay for consumption. Alcohols like spirits, sherry, port, and cider are considered gluten-free.

Wines that contain less than 20 ppm of gluten are safe. (Image: pixabay / CC0 1.0)

5. Substitutes

Many of the everyday foods that you have grown up eating — like bread, pasta, snack items, cereals, etc. — can contain gluten as they are made from grains that contain this protein. Avoiding foods can be a difficult task if you are accustomed to eating them regularly. A good solution to the problem is to use gluten-free substitutes. For example, instead of bread made from wheat, try using bread made from buckwheat. Similarly, switch out wheat-based crackers with those made from oats. 

Follow us on Twitter or subscribe to our weekly email

Recommended Stories

The Champs Elysées, a 2-km-long road in Paris, France, stretching from the Arc de Triomphe to the Louvre.

The Champs Elysées: The Most Famous Street in Paris with 300 Years of History

Why is the Champs Elysées so famous? It was built on the order of the ...

Publicity photo of American actress Anna May Wong likely commissioned to promote the movie 'Daughter of Shanghai.'

Anna May Wong: A Pioneering Hollywood Star of Asian Descent

On October 24, 2022, the U.S. Mint released a 25-cent coin with President Washington on ...

Destroyed buildings and rubble from an earthquake.

Nature’s Warning Signs: Bizarre Happenings Before the Tangshan Earthquake

On July 28, 1976, at 3:42 a.m. Beijing time, an earthquake 16 kilometers below the ...

The Longgong Waterfall.

Exploring the Enchanting Zhukeng River Trail in Chiayi, Taiwan 

Nestled in the picturesque Ruifong Scenic Area in central Taiwan’s Chiayi County, the Zhukeng River ...

A boy using a smartphone.

Excessive Screen Time Can Affect Young People’s Emotional Development

A recent Beyond Blue survey of more than 2,000 teachers identified mental ill-health and excessive ...

An example of kintsugi.

Embracing Imperfection: The Art of Kintsugi

In Japanese culture, there is a unique tradition of not concealing the flaws of broken ...

Thomas Dambo on one of his trolls.

Thomas Dambo: Meet the Danish Artist With Whimsical Sculpture Trolls Across the World

Thomas Dambo, or “The Troll Whisperer,” is a Danish visionary artist and storyteller known for ...

A sad young woman.

Overcoming Depression: A Holistic Approach

Depression, often referred to as the “common cold of the mind,” can be a challenging ...

Giant trolls.

Thomas Dambo: The Artist Who Creates Giant Trolls Out of Trash

Thomas Dambo from Denmark has created something unique for the people of Copenhagen to enjoy ...

Send this to a friend