Traditional Chinese Characters of the Four Directions

The Four Directions (四維 sì wéi) are the four social bonds, including propriety (禮 lǐ), justice (義 yì), integrity (廉 lián), and honor (chǐ 恥). They are the four cardinal values for a harmonious society. This Chinese calligraphy demonstration of Chinese characters is in regular script, which is the most easily and widely recognized one among the five scripts. This calligraphy demonstration was done by Hsiao Shih-Hao, president of the Moxiang Calligraphy Association in Taipei, Taiwan. Hsiao has been an enthusiastic calligrapher for over 40 years and has participated in many major calligraphy exhibitions in Taiwan.

Subscribe to our Newsletter!

Receive selected content straight into your inbox.

Recomended Stories

Send this to a friend